[Upgrade to pro and remove adverts]

Enderby Jackson's 'Sydenham Amateur Contest'

Wed 11th Jul 1860

Format: Own Choice Test Piece Contest
Adjudicators: Unknown, do you know?
Venue: Crystal Palace, Crystal Palace Park, Sydenham, Kent, England, UK

Enderby Jackson's 'Great National Contest' (Qualifying Platform 6) 1860
Next Event
Position Band Conductor Music
1 Cyfarthfa Ralph Livesey Snr Nabucodonosor - Overture [unknown arranger]
2 Dewsbury John Peel Ernani [unknown arranger]
3 Goldshill Saxhorn J. Blandford Introduction and Polacca
4 Chesterfield Henry Slack Lucrezia Borgia [unknown arranger]
5 Meltham Mills H. Hartley Hallelujah Chorus [unknown arranger]
Lincoln Rifles F. M. Ward
Aberaman James Newman
Allendale Town James Holmes
Baildon S. Bentley
Berry Brow Alfred Jackson
Black Rock (Llanelly) G. Williams
Blandford R. Eyers
Bowling Iron Works J. Allen
Bradford Operatic Alfred Scott
Bradford J. W. Dodsworth
Brierley Hill T. Thompson
Pratt's Band (Brighouse) G.A. Pratt
Brighouse G.A. Pratt
Bromborough Pool (Price's Candle Works) C. Hull
Newsome H. Townsend
Churwell W. Hesling
Compstall Henry Tymm
Conisbrough Henry Thickett
Crosshills G. Holloway
Cwm Avon (Talbach) W. Baille
Darlington Temperance W. W. Woodhams
Darwen Temperance James Briggs
Dawley Green Thomas Chirm
Deighton Philip Robinson
Deptford Amateur J. Smith
Deptford Pier M. Froggitt
East Dereham W. Raymond King
Dodworth Victoria George Wray
East Worcestershire (Netherton) J. Woolridge
Fillingham Rectory J. T. Martin
Flint Choral Societies William Foulkes
Flockton George Webster
Heckmondwike Flush Mills J. M. Sykes Maritana [unknown arranger]
Gawthorpe Britannia E. Robinson
Gawthorpe Temperance G. Speight
Great Eastern (London) R. Hirst
Heaton B. Bennett
Heckmondwike Albion H. Goodall
Hemsworth Eli Shaw
Hessle Stephen Akester
Heywood Mills J. Ellwood
Horncastle T. Shaw
Huddersfield W. Drake
Hull Brunswick W. Dodgson
Hull Catholic John Acey
Ingledew's Leeds C. Ingledew
Keighley Marriner's J. Sugden
Kettering Sax Horn C. Patrick
Kirkburton Temperance M. Rollinson
Leyburn J. Hunter
Liverpool Alliance J. G. Rungden
Liverpool Amateur Charles Steen
Low Moor Ironworks Joseph Rhodes
Luddenden Foot A. Harwood
Malton and Norton Sax Horn Herbert Milburn
Malton United William Turner
Melbourne L. Warren
Meltham Mills H. Hartley
Merthyr Tydfil Town William Matthias
Milnrow N. Brown
Morley John Lobley
Mossley William Taylor
Nottingham Sax Tuba C. T. Hurst
Nuneaton J. Mayes
Ossett Temperance J. Chappell
Otley E. Thackeray
Oxford University Rifle Corps G. Adams
Patrington Walter Jackson
Great Northern Railway (Peterborough) J. W. Commissiong
Pudsey J. Rawcliffe
Raunds William Noble
Ringstead Temperance John Knowles
Rothwell Church E. Burditt
Rothwell Town Thomas Garratt
Saltaire Richard Smith
Scarborough Mechanics A. K. Beckett
Scarborough Operatic John Landy
Scholes Samuel Bentley
Selby Charles Wilby
Sheepscar Leather Works T. Williams
Southampton Amateur D. Crook
Stanhope Robert de Lacy
Deepcar J. Beever
Stocksbridge Works H. Biltcliff
Stourbridge W. Field
Sutton-in-Ashfield Joseph Dennis
Swanwick James Briggs
United Sherwood (Sutton-in-Ashfield) C. Scott
Wakefield Foresters William Clegg
Waterloo Band (Brighouse) James Greenwood
Wednesbury Z. Sanders
Whitby W. Mercer
Witney J. Crawford
Wolverhampton Tube Works J. Metcalf
Wyke J. Crowther
  Yeadon Frank Gray
Next Event

This contest does not appear to have complete results. Add More Here.


The competition was divided into two stages. The first stage divided the competing bands into 6 qualifying contests, each 'platform' being judged by three adjudicators; the top two from each 'platform' qualified for the second stage.

To the cornet player in the Goldshill Saxhorn Band was awarded the electroplated cornet-a-piston, by Antoine Courtois, presented by Messrs. Chappell and Hammond, for the best soprano or cornet player of the two days' contest. The B flat euphonium, presented by Messrs. Boosey and Sons, for the best bass player of the two days' contest, was awarded to John Walker, of the Cyfarthfa Band.

Enderby Jackson's Contests National Championships

Printed from https://brassbandresults.co.uk/